Saturday, 6 October 2018

Why didn’t Trump win the 2018 Nobel Peace Prize?

On Oct. 5, the Norwegian Nobel Committee announced the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad “for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict.”
In April, South Korean leader Moon Jae-in called for President Trump to win the Nobel Peace Prize for his efforts to end hostilities on the Korean peninsula. Then in June, President Trump’s efforts materialized in a historic denuclearization summit with North Korea leader Kim Jong Un.
But here’s why President Trump didn’t win the 2018 prize.
The Nobel committee accepts nominations for each year’s prize until Feb. 1 of the same year. Nominations can be submitted only by people who meet the criteria, including lawmakers, legal experts, certain academics, and previous prize recipients.
President Trump was nominated for the 2018 prize before the deadline for his “peace by force” ideology for the second year in a row, but the nominations appeared to have been forged and were subsequently withdrawn by the Norwegian Nobel Committee.
In May, a group of 18 House Republicans who strongly support Trump sent a letter to the Norwegian Nobel Committee, formally nominating him, but that was for 2019.
Two Norwegian lawmakers also nominated Trump for the 2019 prize after he signed a denuclearization agreement with Kim Jong Un in June.
The Nobel Institute keeps the nominations secret for 50 years, but those who nominate are allowed to disclose their choice. So while Trump’s known nomination for the 2018 prize failed to qualify, he may have a shot next year.

No comments:

Post a comment